Water’s True Cost Collaboration

Detroit PBS Names Five New Members to Board of Trustees

DETROIT (Jan. 4, 2022) – Five new members have been elected to the Detroit PBS Board of Trustees.
They are:

  • Hiren Bhatt, Director of Software Quality for Modern Applications at Domino’s Pizza
  • Gregory Haynes, Retired Senior Systems Specialist
  • Sylvester L. Hester, President & CEO of LM Manufacturing and Supply Chain
  • Rajeev Shah, Audit Principal and CIO at Alan C. Young & Associates and COO of The Young Conway Group, LLC
  • John J. Walsh, President & CEO of the Michigan Manufacturers Association (MMA)

“This abundance of new talent, experience, and enthusiasm is an amazing holiday gift for our station,” said Rich Homberg, president and CEO of Detroit PBS. “These five new members come from a wide variety of backgrounds and fields of endeavor, but they all share our commitment to serving the community.

“We all look forward to working together with each of them to advance our mission, which is to provide unparalleled programming, content, and engagement for Detroit and Southeast Michigan. Especially as we have all struggled through this pandemic, we have demonstrated the value of a community-licensed and community-focused public media station in confronting challenges, offering solutions, and creating opportunities for the future. Our new board members will help us build that better tomorrow.”

Hiren Bhatt works in the technology department at Domino’s Pizza as the Director of Software Quality for Modern Applications. These applications drive customer-facing online ordering platforms and store innovation programs. Bhatt’s responsibilities include functional quality, operational stability, and data management of these software platforms and products.

Prior to joining Domino’s, he ran his own consulting firm specializing in managing and delivering large information system and technology transformation programs for various state government entities and commercial organizations.

As an active community member, Bhatt has supported various educational programs, such as the FIRST Lego League, FIRST Tech Challenge, and Science Olympiad at Farmington Hills Middle Schools. He earned a bachelor’s degree in electronics engineering from Gujarat University in Gujarat, India.

Gregory Haynes worked on the General Motors account for EDS (Electronic Data Systems) for 23 years. He also held a variety of positions including technical team leader, software testing specialist, and project manager on multinational projects.

After leaving EDS, he served as a registered nurse at Sinai-Grace Hospital and then as a senior systems analyst and nursing educator at the Visiting Nurse Association of Southeast Michigan. Currently, he is a board member of the Motor City Wine and Food Festival, which raises funds for the Oakland Literacy Council.

He received a Bachelor of Science in computer information systems from Jacksonville State University in Alabama, a Bachelor of Science in nursing from Wayne State University, and an Associate Degree in culinary arts from Oakland Community College.

Sylvester L. Hester is a 30-year veteran automotive and aerospace supply chain executive with substantial experience in manufacturing, operations, logistics, and business development. LM Manufacturing is a joint venture of Magna International and LAN Manufacturing, which is solely owned by Hester. He began his career as an engineering technician for General Motors Advanced Engineering in 1985, rising through the ranks to become a vice president. He left GM to become president of ARD, a subsidiary of GAA, a manufacturing and supply chain company. He eventually served as chair of all GAA companies.

Hester serves on the boards of the Karmanos Cancer Institute, Grow Michigan II, Benjamin Carson High School Advisory Council, and Michigan Minority Supplier Development Council.

He holds a Master of Science in administration from Central Michigan University and a Bachelor of Science in plastics engineering from Ferris State University, as well as a number of advanced business executive programs.

Rajeev Shah is the COO of The Young Conway Group and audit principal and CIO at Alan C. Young & Associates. He oversees their operations, policies, and procedures, supporting the delivery of financial advisory and business consultancy services to clients. With more than 25 years of industry experience, he has served a wide variety of governmental, municipal, small business, and nonprofit clients. He has extensive experience in governmental auditing and served on the Retirement Plans Task Force of the Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants (MICPA).

Shah holds a bachelor’s degree in accounting. He is a chartered accountant and a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and the Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants (MICPA).

As President & CEO of the Michigan Manufacturers Association, John J. Walsh directs the state’s leading organization representing Michigan manufacturers through advocacy, education, and strategic business services. Previously, he served as the state budget director for Michigan, where he was responsible for coordinating all aspects of the state’s $57 billion budget. Prior to that, he was the director of strategic policy for Gov. Rick Snyder and served three terms in the Michigan House of Representatives. He was recognized by his peers as the most effective legislator in 2013 and as Legislator of the Year by MIRS News in 2014.

Previously, Walsh served as an executive at Schoolcraft College, where he was responsible for development, government and external relations, grants, and related administrative and legal matters. He was also responsible for the school’s Business Development Center and served as executive director of the internationally recognized Schoolcraft College Culinary Arts program.

He received a Juris Doctor degree from Wayne State University College of Law and a Bachelor of Arts in public policy analysis from James Madison College of Michigan State University. He is an Aspen Rodel Fellow and serves on numerous civic and philanthropic boards.